Who am I to disagree?

By longshanks

Grey Panther

Most visitors to Skye will look at this photo and recognise it as Kilt Rock a popular tourist attraction where the vertical basalt columns resemble the pleats of a kilt with the intruding sills of dolerite forming the pattern. Most climbers on Skye will recognise routes such as Grey Panther E1 5b *** and Internationale E2 5b **.

Way back in May 1997 Grey Panther for me was one of the highlights of my climbing career, lead by PatagoniaPete it took me 45 minutes of sustained climbing to second it. Well and truly knackering, but absolutely unforgettable. Back in September 2009 I returned with Mick & Kathy (and a frozen shoulder) and attempted to climb it again - not a good plan.

Today it was John's turn to have a go and today's photo is him half way up. I chose to purely be a spectator today, I'll be back though. Kathy climbed it after John and although seconding she did it with an eye on leading it one day - perhaps that'll be the day I second it again.

In today's photo you may notice Cancarrier sat at the top. She'd been talked into having a go too and once John & Kathy were up she abseiled down...... Cancarrier's version & Rancidand's version of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.