Feeling the Cold

Winter seems to have finally arrived. Susan was well wrapped up against the cold today. I thought her face looked familiar but she didn't recall me having taken her photograph before. It turned out, though, that I had - back in the summer of last year. It's strange how my memory seems to work when it comes to my faces, but barely in any other aspect of my life at the moment.

Also strange that I arrived home tonight quite exhausted, with incredibly tired eyes and a sore head, and generally feeling rather melancholy - only to find myself wide awake right now some nine hours of graft later. I had no inspiration for the Christmas short story I wanted to write for our meeting tomorrow. Then, suddenly, the Muse struck in a rather unexpected way and the words started to flow. I had my story conceived and typed up roughly by midnight, and in the early hours of the morning I'm now done editing. I have no idea where the energy has come from. I guess it's always there when you're in the zone. I could have been in bed at least four hours ago but I'm glad I've kept at it. I might share the story tomorrow if I feel brave enough!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.