Writer's Group Christmas Event

We had our writer's group Christmas meeting today. It was so much fun, with lots of festive fare, everyone (within the exception of me) cooking food to bring along. I only arrived with words! Star of the show was Roger's cake, modelled after a typewriter. It tasted as good as it looked. We had some wonderfully inventive poetry and a couple of songs from the very talented Emma (follow the link to soundcloud and have a listen). 

Kelly left us astonished by producing an entire illustrated children's book in just a week. She's an incredibly talented artist and writes up a storm too. We all said that she should try to get her book published for next Christmas. It was great.

Just a couple of regular stories this time around. Ruxandra's was a bittersweet tale of a depressed Christmas tree with delusions of grandeur which got consigned to a shopping centre and ended up spending Christmas day all on its own. I read mine last, and it was received well enough to give me the confidence to post it here. I enjoyed reading the story, but I know I need to slow down. I want to get better at reading my own work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.