The second half of life..

By twigs

Church

Awoke early to the sounds of the waves lapping nearby.  Breakfast was pretty relaxed and it was lovely to be able to call mum and wish her a happy birthday whist enjoying the beautiful scenery and a beautiful morning.  I hope some of the beautiful atmosphere found it's way along the phone lines to warm you up a bit mum! 

Sister F called me not long after talking with mum - definitley under the influence of a wine or 3!  Good talking to you F (and G!) - will definitely be in touch again soon.

Headed into Paihia around midday and it was pretty much as I'd expected - lots of people and tourist traders......really not my scene.  Headed over the river into Waitangi for a visit to the Treaty gounds.  I've been there a couple of times before but it's still a very enjoyable experience and it's always good to freshen up my knowledge of historical developements which have lead to the growth of this beautiful nation.

Thought I might stay at Matauri Bay but once again, disappointment to find a huge, packed campground and no opportunities for freedom camping.  This wee church has a stunning view and it's red and white paint was quite a contrast to the blues and greens of Mother Nature. This is a strong Maori area as represented by this chuch and its graveyard.  Beauiful.  Drove on a bit to Ngaere where, thankfully, I found a lovely camping spot again, on the water's edge with the sound of the waves lapping just metres away.  Another day, another beach.  Life is good!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.