The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Still here

After an absence of nearly four weeks, Gus opens our 2016 blip account.  After more than four weeks of rain, I returned home today to two inches of snow.  

I was home by shortly after midday after nearly 300 miles of driving.  I was desperate to get back in daylight for a walk with Gus over the Knott, and we did a longer circuit taking in Arnside Tower (which has only been seen once before in close-up in this journal).

I left the Old Flyer yesterday lying in his hospital bed where he has been since New Year's Eve.  He continues to defy pessimistic expectations, he has a life force that refuses to dim despite all the set backs.  There is talk of him being released by the middle of next week, hopefully  to rehab before he gets sent home.  There are still significant challenges ahead.

I have stayed away from blipping all this time, to allow time and space to concentrate on other things.  The camera has hardly come out of its bag in four weeks.  I suspect my presence here will be at best occasional for a while yet.  I'm grateful for the messages of support and concern.  In the meantime, the signs are surely encouraging for the future of Blipfoto?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.