todayoutof10

By todayoutof10

Masterclass

I attended my first of four Celtic Connections gigs tonight. And what a way to start.

Yes, this really is RLJ - Rickie Lee Jones!

I was captivated from start to finish. She lives in Louisiana and has assembled a band from those parts that brought every genre to life with an ease and skill that was a joy to watch, never mind listen to.

She doffed her beautiful trilby hat (which had fallen off by this point) to gospel, prog, piano based ballads, jazz ofcourse, waltz, Cajun style and, thrillingly, she honoured Bowie with a cover of Rebel Rebel that was jazzy, rocky and downright dirty. And, that voice! It was a masterclass.

I hope I get another chance to see her but, with 15 years between her trips to Glasgow, who knows.

Wow ❤️

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.