Stepping out

The day started well. Woke with the sunrise, even though it was overcast and therefore unseen. Sat on the window seat in the main room, and completed Wednesday's Guardian cryptic crossword which I had started yesterday over breakfast. Very pleasing. At breakfast this morning I started yesterday's Guardian cryptic. Managed to complete it before the battery in my iPad became too low.

Managed to avoid the traffic into and out of Warkworth when I went in to the town to pick up my present for Son of Tsuken. For almost 20 years I have taken photographs of tractors. At first somewhat randomly and by chance. After the birth of my first grandson (Mr H) I thought I could create a Tractor Book. It has taken me nearly ten years, and it will be given to another grandson. I am delighted with the way it looks. I hope he is.

Back to the Beachhouse, and down to the water mudflats at Southend, Snells Beach. I went to see if I could get a good photo of a kuaka (Bar-tailed godwit). The tide was a bit further out than I had wanted to be there by. I could see ducks. And heron; white-faced heron. One Kawau paka (Little pied shag), and one Torea tai (Variable oystercatcher, pied morph). A few Tarapunga (Red-billed gulls).

And then I saw somewhere between six and twelve kuaka, fairly widely scattered. I managed to get close enough to be able to take a number of good photos of kuaka walking, and flying (for the latter see in extras). Satisfied with these photos.

After lunch, and a rest and some reading, I spent some time in the garden, and then swept most of the deck. Didn't finish, as mother-in-law suddenly became unwell, and we had to spend some time persuading her to call the ambulance. Two very nice paramedics (English by their accents) came, and eventually convinced her to go down to North Shore Hospital.

A slightly subdued meal which I cooked on the BBQ; most of it anyway. After this I need to go out and water the new plantings. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.