Sun blast

This morning I was awake in time to see the dark red sky from the point before getting into my gear and heading off down the cliff path to the beach. Because of the peninsula to the south east, and the clouds, the sun rise was delayed somewhat. I was able to get to the point between our beach and Snells Beach before the first blast of sunlight across the southern part of Kawau Bay. 

I took this photo over the rocks out from the point. On the rocks were a number of toreapango (variable oyster catchers). 

ADDITIONAL: I had great fun this morning on my run along the beach, and then up to the dairy for the paper. First up was getting not appalling photos of a white faced heron in flight. Being able to change direction keeping the bird in the frame and focussing without too much stress was a novel experience. My new Pentax 50-200 lens.

Then I heard a fluttering and splashing in a rock pool. There I saw a 5 or 6 inch long fish. Trapped by the retreating tide, it was waiting for the water to return. Only a couple of hours still to go even it responded to my shadow. I am very pleased with my photo of it.

Further around the point I saw a white faced heron standing tall, with the golden light of the sunrise hitting it. I was also pleased with my photos of it flying away.

A morning like today succours the soul.

Late this afternoon I took a walk on the mudflats, saw the kuaka feeding and caught three taking fright.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.