TINY TUESDAY

Mr. HCB took me out for coffee this morning - mainly because I am busy for the rest of the week - so we have to make appointments to see each other - believe me, it is hard being retired and so busy!

We went to our usual coffee place in Old Town, The Old Bank, and as it was raining hard outside, I was looking for something to take for Tiny Tuesday.  You might be tempted to think these are baby sprouts, but you would be wrong.  They are, in fact, wasabi peas, which are green peas that have been roasted and coated in a mixture of starch, sugar, salt, oil and wasabi, a form of the horseradish plant grown in Japan.   I was told that the wasabi peas are crunchy little snacks with a distinctly sharp, fiery flavour, so I decided to pass and we had a Danish pastry instead - perhaps not quite as healthy, but much easier on the palate!

We are now back home, looking out at the rain lashing down - I’m making some soup for lunch to have with some cheese bread - and it’s smelling good - and we are very thankful that we have each other, good food and a warm home. 

Some of you know that I have put up a Post-it Note every day since Lent 2014 - my Post-it Note went up in The Old Bank today - actually on the wasabi peas jar - see the extra photograph - I hope your day is filled with gratitude and many good things!

As we express our gratitude, 
     we must never forget 
          that the highest appreciation 
               is not to utter words, 
                    but to live by them.
John F. Kennedy


Thanks to Nicki Maguire for hosting Tiny Tuesday - today is her last day of hosting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.