Storm Gertrude

There's been a braw stoor o wind today, think it peaked at 105mph and heard that gusts were at 147mph.  There has been sunny spells mixed with the wind and the rain wasn;t as bad as they thought.  There's been thunder and haily-puckles tonight. 

I was meant to be in the office this morning, due to the weather, the ferries were cancelled and I had to work all day on the desk, well once I got my orders out of the way.  It's been a fairly quiet day in the museum, can't blame folk and even with the schools closed.  I went out in the car at lunchtime and a wooden billboard snapped and nearly hit my car.  There has been various minor damages across the isle, slates falling etc.  The lasses at work had to persuade a tourist not to climb Ronas Hill today, our highest hill.  Think he would have been blown away!  After tea, I went back to Lerwick to see what's for sale at the auctions, nothing taken my fancy and that was the highlight of my Friday evening :)  The winds have calmed for now and will manage a walk or two with Sammy.

I nipped into Scalloway at lunchtime and Storm Gertrude was at her best.  Think she was upgraded to a hurricane.  The waves were rolling in from the Atlantic and the seas were boiling.  With the hightide, the streets were getting flooding, and sandbags placed at the shop doors.  I'll need to come back to see what damage has been done.  This is the Burn Beach carpark, with the waves dumping all sorts out from the sea.  Taken at Burn Beach, Scalloway. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.