pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Three Tuns Yard, King Street, Norwich

A usual Monday morning in the Gibbs house with everyone heading off in their own separate directions. Once at work a normal morning ensued, and at lunchtime I walked towards King Street in search of Courts and Yards. I had read that there were many in this area, but what would remain?

I didn't have to go far. This is the first entrance I met. It took it's name from a neighbouring pub, which ceased trading in 1969. Apparently there is a 15th century undercroft beneath the building. A wide opening to this yard, unlike most, to allow carts through for the pub. The buildings in the yard behind were cleared in 1938, and modern buildings replace them.

Just a few doors down, I came upon 'Swan Yard', it looked more original as if the buildings behind were preserved and still used.

There are many more yards to find along here, when I have more time. All the buildings along this road have stories to tell. So I will be going back.

I left at 4.40 while still light & my lovely boy had got dinner on by the time I got home. I've spent a bit of time on the internet this evening. Trying to find an affordable holiday to France....getting there, I think! Jon will be back Wednesday, so perhaps we can make a decision!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.