Northern Exposure

By Northern

Crafty

Had to drop off some stuff today at Scapa Crafts where Jackie and Marlene make Orkney strawback chairs. These are the traditional furniture of the islands and were made from the materials at hand in a place with very little wood.

Jackie was working on a chair when I popped in and I took the opportunity to watch the process (and pick up a blip whilst I was there). He made it look very easy but I think its probably a lot harder than it looks. I doubt the process has changed in hundreds of years. The wooden frame would originally have been driftwood and sometimes still is. The straw is a byproduct from the oat harvest. So it must be a really environmentally sound bit of furniture.

Marlene was doing something mysterious with the straw prior to it turning magically into the rope (sorry, don't know the proper word). What with the large pile of straw in the corner and mysterious transformations into golden chairs it reminded me of the tale of Rumpelstiltskin.

Worth a visit, if only for the amazingly delicous oaty smell. I'm saving up my pennies for a chair, might get one when I can spin straw into gold.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.