Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Birthday Stilt

Today we are celebrating my dad's 83rd birthday.  And since two of the three times I've seen black-necked stilts was with my dad and mom, I thought it would be an appropriate choice today.  Besides, I really like this photo.  I think stilts are such exquisite looking creatures, so delicate and graceful.  The light was perfect and the water was like glass and I was in the company of the three people I love most in the world.  I cropped this slightly but wanted to leave lots of space around the bird.

We spent all morning at Gilbert Water Ranch Riperian Preserve which is my favorite birding/photography spot in Phoenix.  Once I have access to LR again, I will post a bunch of picks from this trip - for now I will put a couple of other favorites in Extra - Anna's hummingbird and Verdin.

Woke up this morning with a head/chest cold so I'm hacking and snuffling.  Refuse to let it slow me down, though!  Time for resting when I get home.

Thank you very much for stopping by!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.