Oh My Days!

By lovelupins17

The alien has landed....

......on top of the 3 rise locks in Bingley.....

And it's only gone and blown the b****y doors off!

Actually it's a spider crane... one of the workmen told me..... with its legs sprawled on either side of the middle lock.  They're replacing the middle lock doors.  The top and bottom doors were replaced years ago but until recently they didn't have the machinery to replace the middle doors.

The spider crane arrived on a barge... which is moored at the top of the locks... and the new doors can be seen to the left of the pic.... each of them weighing 4.5 tons....

They will be lifted into place tomorrow I was told... I'd love to watch... but will not be able to :(

There will be a celebration of the locks the weekend of the 5/6th March.. with  stalls, craftsmen and demos alongside the canal....and much merriment and cheer I'm sure! :) 

Gotta love the canals haven't you! :) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.