Along the Coastal Path

One of my special treats, every time I come to Madeira, is to walk gently along the Coastal Path.

I was on the path last week, on a couple of occasions, but today was my first chance just to set off.

The first part from my hotel is along the main road, rather busy with buses and lots of tourists staying in the Lido, walking down into Funchal. Then you come to the area where they are getting on well with the rebuild of the Lido itself, after dreadful storms about ten years ago. (Due to open next year apparently).

From that point you don't leave the sea. Little bars and cafes are useful stopping points. You walk down to the water's edge by my favourite restaurant, just before you go through the caves on to Praia Formosa.

I was only going to go that far and then get the bus back.

But I was enjoying myself so I kept on walking (even round the detour where the path has caved in).

Rather tired but contented, I arrived in Camara de Lobos.

I caught the bus back and went for lunch.

It's been a very nice day so far.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.