Big Hill

By bighill

Log and snow.

It's the beauty before the beast...stunningly sunny and beautiful day here...with a rather nasty storm on it's way tomorrow....which sucks cos we were set to have a poker night here...but the roads are bound to be crazy!!!

Had a lovely walk thro the forest here and was contemplating the variety of  people's passions !!!  I'm almost finished a book written by the first South African woman to climb Everest, and the first woman to climb the north face!  It is absolutely gripping, astonishing,  and i can hardly get my head around what it means to take on such an expedition!   Here i was, walking thro the forest that has some hard icy bits, very uneven footing and i hate it....i find myself stumbling and feeling quite concerned that i might trip!!!!   My guess is i wouldn't make a good mountaineer....even in my younger years.....i'm much more of 'walk on the beach bare foot' than 'sleep on ice' kinda gal i guess!!!!

We also watched a movie the other night about a group of mountaineers who went to the summit of K2.....true story, 11 of the 18 died!!!   Don't ask why i'm so enthralled with these adventures.....but i am!   I guess it's the diversity of human passion that intrigues me!

Off to make soup cos it's a fasting day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.