La Fhéile Pádraig

Dress suitably in short skirts
and sitting boots
leave your jewels and gold wands in the bank,
and buy a revolver.
Advice from Countess Markievicz. 1916

There was a 1916 theme to the annual Paddy's Day Parade in Ballydehob and this woman was looking especially fine dressed as the formidable Countess Markievicz - normally she's to be seen cooking delicious meals in her gourmet shop! The sun tried to shine, the vintage tractors driven by vintage chaps were out in force and there was a lot of of green! We treated ourselves to lunch in Budds which was heaving, the staff managing to be very calm and collected in all the chaos.

It being Paddy's Day a visit to a well seemed appropriate. I found one dedicated to St Patrick, a good hour away but decided to go for it. It was in darkest Castletown Kinneigh and although I had written down instructions carefully none of them seemed to make sense when I got there. The village seemed to be one large farmyard with a pub but fortunately I spotted an elderly farmer attending to silage bales, surrounded by bouncy dogs and skinny cats. I asked him if I was anywhere near the townland I wanted and did he know of a well? He did - I was to go up the hill, straight over the cross, head for the palms (?) and stop at the house. Right so! I followed instructions and instantly recognised the house for it was very charming (see extra) , but no one was at home. Sensing I must be close I continued a little further, parked the car and spotted a man and his dog trimming a hedge. Did he know of a well? He looked suspicious - what did I want to know for? I explained and he looked askance and softened. He had been there himself already today, as had many others. This was how I was to find it:
There's a gate, go over, walk across the field, make for the gap in the trees and follow the path in the forest.
Will I know it when I see it?
You will.
I followed instructions (again) and they were spot on. The gap in the trees led into a rather spooky bit through tall, lichened firs (the palms), and the path was teeny but there were muddy footprints. Once the little river came into view it felt lighter and there was the well - I did indeed know it for it was a basin cut into the rather impressive rock - on the other side of the stream! Fortunatley a tree was over hanging the water and there were some random stepping stones so I swung over. What a remarkable place, so quiet and beautiful. The water in the well was fresh and very cold and little crosses had been scratched here and there - stones thoughfully left for you to do the same. I don't know why I like these places so much - something about the tradition and the remote and secret places they are to be found in.
Happy Paddy's Day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.