One of my favourite mummy moments is the sleepy time after swimming at home when she snuggles on my knee as I brush and braid her hair. 

Parents Evening after school tonight. A lot for her to be very proud of. A few moments that made me laugh: 
- her teachers said "we thought we should talk to you about her dancing". The other said "Yes, we have noticed that she's a very good dancer". I managed to not be sarcastic. 
- I was reading through her literacy book and she was talking about recycling. "When we recycle it gets taken round the country". The teacher wrote why? She wrote back "because some places dont have enough bottles and we should share". 
-  Also in the recycling section "The brown bin is for garden rubbish. One day mummy put me in it".
- "At Christmas Mummy asked if I wanted to do my homework. But I had presents instead".
- "Jesus rode into Juroosalum on a donkey. It was very cute". 

I really enjoyed reading her Arts award journal, they're over half way through it. They had to show evidence of them "appreciating" the arts, so a Wizard of Oz dance show, Sleeping Beauty theatre show, a pantomime and a music concert plus reviewing what made each different and good. There was evidence of their own art - performing and evaluating their own performances, self portraiting and portraits of others (old people from a residential home they visited). Work inspired by Picasso. Next term they are learning about the history of some other artists. It's a great additional part of their curriculum. 

Her maths books were good to read - she's really grown in her maths this year. It's definitely the area she's made most progress in. She has gone from only vaguely interested because it was just too easy to enjoying being challenged by it and choosing to go do it as her self-chosen activities. They said if she's struggled on something, they know that she just needs a few turns to go through it and then she just "gets" it. I also think her music has helped - halves and quarters for example were immediately understood because she's been used to that for ages. 

I was a little sad reading where she wrote about breaking clarinet. "This morning I did my guided reading. Then Mummy broke my clarinet. She did it by accident. We both cried. I only had bread and a banana to eat" (I should add that she selects her own breakfast!). 

I think some of her literacy work disappoints her. Doing her extended writing homeworks, the normal handwriting is stunningly neat, the content creative, expressive and varied in vocabulary but I get the feeling that a lot of the literacy tasks she rushed them off in a bid to get them over with. Thinking it through, I think she's just not that into the ones that are less challenging. We have had a little chat about still needing to try in those too though (though it frustrates me that this has to be done so that the arbitrary government tick sheets can get the arbitrary tick!) and she still said that literacy is her favourite subject. 


They said she's a delight to have in class and one of the teachers said if she's not there for whatever reason she misses having her about.  They said she's always happy, has a good circle of friends and they love that she listens and is one of the most responsive to their guidance. 

Well done, poppet xxx 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.