LuvU2

By LuvU2

Lobobunaea angasana. male

Old Manda came running to the car, as we left to fetch R jnr from school today to show what he found in the garden! I am afraid, everybody is looking out for blip-possibilities in this household!

I was so pleasantly surprised, I think this is one of the prettiest moths I have ever seen! Apart from its beauty, it is really big as well, I measured the wingspan, it is 20cm!

Please note the hairs on the wings, the beautiful eyes and "eyelashes" he-he, and as a bonus, I blipped it on the hibiscus!

Aparently, the lovely "eyelashes" indicate it is a male, it is his "antenae" with which he "finds" his female! Ah-ha!

Z will have to make sure I identiffied this one correctly, he is the expert'.

A moth is an insect closely related to the butterfly. The differences between butterflies and moths are quite a mistery to me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.