Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

More Rats!

But, before my mum sighs in despair - these are not the sort that'll get ill or need feeding! This sweet little trio were bought for me by my friend Diffle and arrived in the post today for a slightly belated birthday pressie - they were chosen by one of her sons!

Well, I'm back, after yet more time away. I do have pictures for all the missing days, and will upload as I get chance to. You'll hear about MiL's funeral, an airshow, and one of the worst cases of flu I've ever had. In addition, I've had a birthday, although it wasn't much of a day, since I was either unconscious or delirious for most of it, and it was "celebrated" by having an ambulance and almost being admitted to hospital!

As for today, I've continued my recovery and kept trying to do little bits and pieces when I can. I've also eaten one of my birthday cupcakes (chocolate orange), and we've had a delivery from Tesco.com, so we have supplies again after something of a hiatus!

The Wonderspouse also, finally, made a doctor's appointment. He went in to ask to be signed off for a week, and the doctor took one look at him and said that he needed more than that, so signed him off for a fortnight.

Darjeeling, one of my little rat girlies, who is poorly at the moment, seems to be a bit better. The Wonderspouse called in at the vet and picked up some more medicine for her. We're keeping everything crossed that she picks up, diligently giving her her meds twice a day, and feeding her whatever she wants to keep her energy up and get a bit of weight back on her.

FiL is, as expected, finding life difficult to cope with without MiL. However, he's bought himself a fish tank and is going to get some fish so that he's not the only life in the house. I'm looking forward to meeting them when we go and visit - which we shall do as soon as I'm well enough to drive again.

Nobody ever said life was going to be easy, but it seems to be testing us particularly hard at the moment. This flu probably puts paid to me working over the summer too, so I'm once again living on fresh air, which is never easy.

Hey well, we keep going. Felix and Tiggy are warm, friendly and lovely, Laura and Robbie are cute and fluffy, and the rat cages are full of smiling little faces every morning.

And we have each other, so we battle through the grief, the illness, the maxed out credit cards, the filthy house, and the mess that fate has decided to make of 2012 thus far.

It can't go on like this for ever, surely?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.