Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Honey...

I spent most of the day outside with my camera - it doesn't get much better than that, does it?  The day started with Hubs and I enjoying breakfast in our kitchen.  Suddenly, Hubs says "there's a bird on your box out there - it looks blue".  Mad scramble from the table, binos grabbed, identity confirmed - the male bluebird was back.  And this time he brought a lady friend!  The two have been checking out four of my nest boxes for the better part of the day - lots of inspections (inside and out) and lots of singing and chattering.  I am feeling extremely optimistic at this point that I may finally get a pair of nesting bluebirds in our yard  Very exciting!

So, you'd think that I would blip one of the many pics I took of the pair today...and I was planning to...except then this honey bee showed up and I managed to get it in flight.  Not easy to do, at least for me.  And the purple hyacinth is a nice bonus, don't you think?  

I did post pics of both bluebirds on Flickr if you'd care to have a look:
Mrs measuring the box
while Mr looks on

If they end up nesting here, you'll see lots more of them in the weeks to come.  

Meanwhile, the chickadees are also checking out the same boxes - once the bluebirds have made a choice, I expect the chickadees will take up residence in another of the boxes.  That would leave 4 for the House Wrens when they arrive - they like to build multiple "dummy" nests, so having extra real estate is necessary.  

Hubs and I are leaving tomorrow after breakfast for a quick visit with our niece and nephew and their baby in Washington.  Hoping to catch a glimpse of the cherry blossoms while we are there, too, if the weather cooperates.  

Thanks so very much for all the love on my Tiny blip yesterday. As you've probably guessed, I have a great deal of fun setting up little adventures for the Tinies.  Someone asked if they are really as tiny as they look - and yes, they are.  I actually need to get some needle-nose tweezers to place them as my fingers are just too big.

Okay, off to make some pasta for dinner.  Later, people.

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.