Helping the wind down

Been one of those days.

What exactly does that mean, I wonder. Which of "those days" does this refer to? Those days which are named Monday, perhaps? Those days when I'm working in the acute inpatient unit? Those days when I'm a locum rather than on permanent staff? Those days when the registrar is on nights and the house officer is in bed with flu? Those days when there have been a number of new admissions since I was last here? Those days when there's a lot happening? 

All of the above. I did make time for three pots of coffee, and a couple of quick sandwiches, and while eating them I managed a few more clues in Imogen's puzzle from last Friday. 

When I left to come home, I managed to hit the pause between the early finishers and the late finishers, and had a pleasant and unstressful drive home. I thought about stopping beside the approach to the Harbour Bridge to take a photo of the city gleaming white in the late afternoon sun.

After getting home I took a glass of wine and the remnants of the Imogen and sat on the deck and watched the sun go down. The cares of the world dissipated nicely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.