If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Woodcrete.

Anybody who has known me for any length of time will know that birds (no not that sort) figure fairly largely in my life.  I know there is no such thing as a free lunch but this is as near a free nest box as you can get.  I took up an offer for reduced price membership of the BTO and this was "thrown in" as an extra.  Quite a throw as they are about £20 to buy.

Woodcrete is an interesting material it makes a sort of nuclear bunker for birds.  It feels like concrete and I think has concrete or at least cement in it but has sawdust as a bulking material making it warmer and breathable. 

The nail at the bottom of the picture is for hanging and is the largest aluminium nail I have ever seen.  Aluminium so that if the tree ever makes its way to a saw mill (or meets a chain saw) the saw blade isn't damaged as it would be on a steel/iron nail.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.