The second half of life..

By twigs

Fiery skies

Heels were dragging again today.  I kept finding things that 'needed' doing which slowed me down considerably.  One such job was the Self Containment certificate for the van.  I hadn't realised but, during the emotion and activity of the past 3 months or so, the certificate had expired.  I figured if I was heading away I ought to have a current one.  As luck would have it, just around the corner from me are a couple who are able to check for compliance and issue new certificates.  Pleased to say everything was done in a jiffy and the van is now fit to go for another 3 years :)

Finally left home mid-afternoon having decided that tonight's stopping place should be 'Tina's Tarn'.  I've passed this place many, many times in the past but never known there was a tarn here!  There's also a couple of walks which look like they could be quite interesting so might manage a brief walk tomorrow morning before I then head away south.

This pic was taken from just north of Murchison.  I'd spotted a billowing, pink cloud from a few kilometres back and knew instantly that it was a fire - probably forrestry.  I sure do hope no-one was injured and property is all OK.  The solitary fire engine I passed along the way didn't seem to be in too big a rush so I hope that was a good sign.  A little further along, as I rounded a bend, everything seemed to turn pink.  It just happened that the sun at that particular spot fell directly behind the smoke cloud.  Quite a stunning effect - who needs filters when nature does her bit?!

PS Map location is guesstimate

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.