Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Love is in the air

Well, I know that I blipped a similar shot recently, but I couldn't resist this today.  Cardinals are one of many species of birds who engage in courtship feeding as a way to solidify their pair bonds in the spring.  One has to be 1) quick and 2) lucky to get these shots as the feeding doesn't last longer than a few seconds usually.  I was watching this pair and as the male went to the mealworm feeder (dried, not live...yet), I saw that the female was waiting on the cherry tree.  Suspecting that he might be about to feed her, I trained the lens on her and ... voila!  I got lucky! 

I also got a pair of house finches pair-feeding (see Extra) and narrowly missed the blue jays doing the same.  In other love-news, the bluebirds finally laid an egg!  Yes, there is one lovely blue egg in the nest now and I expect she'll lay one each day for the nest 4 or 5 days before she starts to brood.  No eggs yet in the chickadee nest, but she's lined it with bits of feather and fur, so it's all ready for eggs. House wrens should arrive soon, and hopefully they'll leave both of these nests alone - they have 5 other boxes to choose from, after all.  

Spent a fair amount of the day sorting, editing and tagging photos from the Blip trip this past week - yikes, why did I take so many photos???  

Hubs left around 1 today to head to Watkins Glen for the first race of the season.  Felt a bit like we were ships passing in the night this week!  But I know he's going to have just as much fun racing as I did on the blip trip, so it's all good.  

Planning a kale caesar salad with salmon for dinner tonight, the a little TV and early to bed.  I'm a bit fatigued at the moment, so rest is in order. Hopefully I can start catching up on Blip, too...

TTFN, people.
Debbi 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.