Iain Munro, Boatman, Gometra

After a night on Ulva we were picked up first thing by Iain Munro who farms on Gometra and - amongst many other things - runs the boat to and from the island.

It was a sparkling, bright, warm morning and although it got a little wet and choppy just before we arrived at the anchorage, we were soon over at Gometra House where we were wonderfully welcomed by the island's owner Roc Sandford and all those who were staying there.

The whole visit was idyllic - the views to Staffa and Iona, the hot sun, the smell of the sea, the oysters and the conversation plus Iain's rubarb wine !

More pictures of both islands can be found on my flickr site but this blip was taken on the way back to Ulva from whence we made our way to Criagnure and the boat back to Oban, happy now that I think I have visited every one of the 26 permanently inhabited islands in my constituency (though not all the islands that have houses that might be occasionally occupied, such as Inch Kenneth or LIttle Colonsay).

To make things even better, when I got home a couple of hours later I was very chuffed to discover that my picture from Wednesday this week had been chosen as one of the weeks's staff picks on Blipfoto - the second one this year (this was the first). Thanks to all of you who have commented on it too - I am just lucky to have such wonderful places to take pictures and especially on days like today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.