Presidential Visit

A very special day on Iona. Irish President Michael D Higgins and his wife Sabina visited to celebrate and intensify the very strong links between Ireland & Scotland , personified by Columba in this the 1450th anniversary year of his arrival on the island.

Eilean I was bathed in the most wonderful sunshine all day and my Cabinet colleague Fiona Hyslop was the Government host whilst I was thrilled to welcome him as the local MSP as well as someone who has known him for thirty years.

Most recently we held a joint seminar in the Scottish Parliament when I was Culture Minister to examine the similarities between my policy and his when he was Irish Culture Minister but I first met him when I ran the Celtic Film & TV Festival , and invited him to speak at the Glasgow event in 1983.

His lecture today , delivered in the Iona Village Hall and entitled "On Migrants & Migration" was equally passionate & illuminating as that speech on image & identity.

There was a big Irish media presence on Iona and before the formal group photograph he held an impromptu press conference outside the Abbey.

The day ended with poetry, song and a fine ecumenical service which included the most excellent Lewis Psalm Singing which the President & his wife had not heard before and which they found fascinating.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.