Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Eenie, meenie, miney, moe...

That's pretty much the technique I used to pick today's blip.  Although I am not thrilled with the quality of this pick (harsh light, distance, blah, blah, blah) it's a cool bird and one I see during spring and fall migration.  In case you are wondering, it's a species of sandpiper called a Greater Yellowlegs.   It breeds in southern Alaska and northern/central Canada, and winters in the southern US down into Central America.  This one was catching frogs (I missed that - darn) and small fish and seemed quite content to be photographed.  

In all, I saw 38 species on our walk this morning, including my first-of-year Yellow Warblers who have just arrived this week.  I am going on another walk at this same Marsh on Wednesday and I'm betting that there will be many more Yellow Warblers by then as it is a prime breeding location for them.  Other sightings - osprey, bald eagle, green heron (first of season for NJ), great blues, swans, ducks, blackbirds and many more.  I do love spring.

Back in the yard, the catbird/s is still eating suet, the bluebirds are keeping an eye on their nest from up in the trees around the yard, the woodpeckers are gorging on suet, and just about everyone is singing.  Did I mention that I love spring! 

Hubs and the crew had an engine problem about 2 hours before the end of yesterday's race which involved them working on the car in the track garage until midnight last night replacing something called a head gasket (I think).  Apparently they were able to race today and should be just about done with the 9-hour stint.  Hubs loves racing the way I love photography, so I'm thinking he's riding high at the moment.  Long drive home tonight for him.  

I was tempted to blip my first-of-season Eastern Tiger Swallowtail butterfly, but I'll put him in Extra instead.  Saw a quick glimpse of one in my yard when I got home, too.  Yay!  Spring...did I already tell you I love it?

Cheers, people,
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.