A Dog's Dinner

By G

Spontaneous Applause!

After yesterday mini rant about people not talking I had the opposite experience this morning.

I thought I had plenty of time to catch the bus so I was picking my way through the ice and snow when I spotted it turning into our street. I had to make a dash for it thinking I was going to have to hang around for another half an hour. Little did I know that the bus was early and it was hanging around waiting to catch up with the timetable.

I set off running, slipping and sliding all over the place. I got to the bus, climbed on board managed to pay for the ticket when the half a dozen passengers burst into spontaneous applause!

'We saw you running - you could have broken your ankle on that ice'

'Sit down and catch your breath'

'Well done - that saved you a wait'

It was the pensioners special* and they were up for a chat.

So I ended up having loads of people to talk too - all very pleasant.

*** In Edinburgh all pensioners travel for free, so you can have a bus loads of nothing but Oldies in the morning*****

..and the picture. St Mary's Parish Church in the twilight. Robert Louis Stevenson's grandfather was an Elder here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.