STORM AT THE NORTH SEA

Cold today, very cold. Amd windy, could I call it a storm?
Before lunch I went to the garden center to buy another common rue plant, the herb that I wanted to plant in the garden in Germany, because the common yellow swallowtail butterfly is said to fancy this.
I had already 4 little plants bought, immediately since we had arrived here.
Now I bought a fifth one, a bit overdone perhaps, because one n.
ever knows if any of them will like the soil of another country. I also bought a little thyme plant. We will soon enough travel back and then I can take them with me.
I also phoned my sister, good to hear her voice and to catch up.
In the afternoon, even with a very dark sky above us, we cycled to the sea and were not surprised to see a lot of kite surfers, enjoying the storm and the high waves for their sport. In the far distance the sky was full of the kites. My photo shows some surfers who were much nearer.
The enormous dark clouds and the cold of course did us return after a short walk.
The new huts on the beach did look empty, to sleep there when it storms would not appeal to me and probably neither to many other persons.

My haiku:

Some like it high and
Higher, the gulls, the planes, and
The kite surfers too

And the quote by Edgar Watson Howe, Ventures in Common Sense, 1919:

Wo/Man is still a savage to the extent the she/he has little respect  for anything that cannot hurt her/him. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.