Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Glass House Mountains!

Off to the Glass House Mountains today! We set off last week and diverted to the coast, due to big black clouds suddenly appearing.

No such clouds today- wall to wall blue sky, although the temperature only reached 20 degrees. I say only, because we thought it was marvellous, but we saw someone in a fur coat! I kid you not. And the pub in Montville had a roaring log fire on!!

The barman (from Carlisle) explained that they do 'Christmas' dinners - the full thing - with carol singing- all July! I suggested some cotton wool snow on the windows to go with the decorations and reindeer lights on the roof, but he thought that was going too far.

What a drive! We were ooh-ing and aah-ing and pointing this way and that at the views the whole way. The road goes along a high ridge, with views to the coast one way, and the hinterland the other. Some of the houses were amazing!

We saw a sign 'Beware Road Hazard' and wondered what on earth it was... Flooding? Trucks turning? Very sharp bend? Old folk crossing? None of these.

It was, in fact, about 100 yards of bumpy road with a few teensy potholes! We'd LOVE roads that 'hazardous' in Edinburgh! Can I just also mention that everywhere we go, there is Free Parking!

The Glass House Mountains were scattered over the flat bush land. They were named by Captain Cook, as they reminded him of the glass furnaces in the north of England. There is an Aboriginal legend about how they came to be. They are fantastic!

They are volcanic plugs, and the land used to cover them, so about 300m of land around them has been eroded over the last 25 million years!

We were very organised and took a picnic, and had it at the best picnic table ever- looking out over all the mountains. We were quite far from them, and it was midday, not the best time for photos, so we drove further south to get nearer to them and discovered a really magical lookout and picnic area. It had BBQs and tables and clean toilets and views and... wait for it...

A kangaroo!!

There was Skippy (I'm sure it was him) munching away under the trees! I took millions of photos. How exciting! I was a bit wary about getting too near, as JR kept saying to me that they could kill me if they wanted to. When she insisted on taking the car keys from me (in case I got attacked) I decided I had enough photos. But just look at those horrendous claws on him!

That's another thing to tick off on my list!

What are the chances of blipping a platypus?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.