Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Kung Fu Fighters

Popped in for my blood test. Didn't faint. In fact, didn't even notice she had done it. What a wimp. Then I popped down to see Uncle A, who is all ready, or as ready as you can be for major surgery. Tomorrow. Get it over with at last.

We went into town to the Fruitmarket Gallery for lunch, having enjoyed it so much before we went to Copenhagen. It was fabulous again.

My lovely meal was somewhat spoiled by a man nearby who conducted a business meeting with a younger man IN A VERY LOUD VOICE. Fortunately, the younger man had arrived late, and so it was only half my meal he spoiled. JR insisted that slapping someone and asking them to talk quietly would amount to assault, and I'd be arrested. I did manage carrot cake and coffee as well, despite his best efforts. I just glared at him and sent mental vibes to talk quietly, which he ignored. I had my sunnies on, so that he was blissfully unaware of my attentions.

Then we popped in to a new hotel and it was lovely and quiet, with a very friendly bored barman who was happy to chat to us. Their muzak policy was to have it very very low, which is a big improvement.

The waiter at one point came over and said, 'Would you two be interested in Kung Fu?'

I nearly spluttered into my cheap half the price of Copenhagen designer beer. But what he had said was, 'Would you two be interested in Mexican Food?'

He gave us a two-for-one voucher for a new place. When I studied the map showing where it was, I discovered the map was completely wrong. Oops! Not a good start - to print a million flyers with the wrong location.

Home through George Square to check out what's happening. It's a great venue, getting better every year as they lay fake grass, picnic tables, flower pots and lots of good food venues. And of course, the Speigletent and another Fringe venue. Jazz Festival on at the moment.

Took lots of shots of the sights in the Mile. But it was this group that caught my eye. I could see they were ready to jump, so I lined up my shot. But I was on aperture priority. I don't usually have it on that for just this reason - it was too slow to catch them going up. They all went to check the shot. Yes! They're going to do it again! I quickly changed to TV and got them.

It was either them or the world's most pierced woman.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.