The second half of life..

By twigs

Pudz

I received a call early in the school day - Pudz had deteriorated over night.  If I wanted to, I needed to go to see him as soon as possible.  The vet talked about the need to put him to sleep.......to relieve him of any discomforts.

With a class to teach first up and no way of getting relief at such short notice I bumbled my way through then headed straight to the vets.

My poor we darling Pudz.  He was barely conscious but I was able to sit with him on my lap and stroke him, talk to him, hug him.  I'm sure he felt the familiar comfort of my lap, though he didn't acknowledge it.

The decision to put him to sleep was hard......but easy at the same time.  I could see he wasn't going to recover and he was clearly giving up so making the decision was easy to do for him.  It was hard for me.  He's been part of my life for 16 and a half years.  He was the brother of Bene who I lost in February, not long before I lost Mum.  

Rest peacefully Pudz.......play amongst the stars.......pop over and rest a while with mum on her big white fluffy cloud.  There'll be room aplenty for both you and Bene.

xx

So far, 2016 is a very unhappy year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.