Breathe In And Out...

By ScotNatureBoy

Giant buttercups!

I spotted these giant buttercup-type flowers today growing at the water's edge of the wee artificial loch on the business park where my office is sited. I've been viewing, exploring and recording wildlife around this water body for 16 years (it is only 17 years or so old anyway) and this is the first time I've seen these, so I am fairly sure they have arrived naturally. Rather excitingly (if you are an aquatic biologist), these are plants of the buttercup species Ranunculus lingua, the Greater Spearwort. This is not a common species in Scotland, with only a few records in this area and very few to the north of here. It may have arrived at this site as a seed in the feathers or on the feet of the ducks and swans that frequent the loch. So, a giant, lovely, rare buttercup which is a new record for the town of Stirling (I checked on the National Biodiversity Network website).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.