Not a Tree Bumblebee!

When I first spotted this bee I thought it was a Tree Bumblebee but then realised the orange is in the wrong place.  Back to the eye-spy book of bumble-bees for me!  It was quite large, though not as big as the first Tree Bumblebee I ever found and photographed, a few years ago now, which fell out of the duvet quilt that was drying outside on the line.

Really gruesome garden tidying today full of slugs and snails as I finally got to grips with the worst dumping area in the garden.  We have a very low shed, in one corner, bought to house the mower years ago, which is finally going to be evicted (and will probably be re-purposed as a hen house as it's in better condition than the one they are using now).  So my plan is to to erect a trellis fence in front of this corner to allow the climbing rose and honeysuckle to cover it and then to put things like the coal bunker and the compost bins behind.  Most of the area is already flagged so there won't be much resurfacing to do and two of the compost bins sit on earth.

Yesterday didn't feel quite as hot to me as Monday (apparently it was hotter) but the humidity was much higher. An early evening walk around with my camera proved that there was still plenty of active insect life going on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.