Growing old disgracefully

By GOD

The price you pay...

...for having an untidy garden. I went to clear an overgrown corner this afternoon and was rewarded by a great clump of these wild strawberries, only 2 cm long, but so sweet. They are all gone now, and none of them made it to the kitchen. Oooh, they were so delicious! First cosmos out today and first two tomatoes ripening - they didn't make it to the kitchen either.

It has been a sad and difficult day and it is not over yet. We have had some very bad news and have not yet decided how to deal with it. We have to make a big decision in the next couple of days - whatever we do it can't be good. I felt in the need of some distraction - a good movie was what I wanted, but instead I got the Olympics. Best bit was the finale - seeing Paul McCartney performing Hey Jude. 'Take a sad song and sing it better' was just the message I needed tonight, I am and I will.

GOOD THINGS:
My wonderful husband, life partner and best of friends
My wise No 3 big brother
Gin and tonic

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.