... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Cootling with a mane!

More silly large.

There are very young cootlings on Wandsworth Common's large pond! There are two broods of 3; this is one of the younger set (the older ones are a few days ahead).
I've not blipped a cootling with a full mane for quite some time (hum, it turns out it has only been a month, but that is pretty good going for me), so couldn't resist this wonderfully wavy one. It came right up towards me, showing off its mane in all its ridiculous glory.

The other surprising creature on the pond today was a large terrapin; I spotted one in the pond on Tooting Bec Common a few weeks ago, but I've not before seen one on this pond, and it is huge! It was a long way off in the shade, which made photographing it tricky, but I've got an unimpressive photograph for my amusement (and to quell my doubts) and it is easily a foot across.

p.s. For another cute bird, I back blipped a dainty female Mandarin duck on Thursday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.