Red Squirrel

By JJRW

Come Fly With Me.

GO LARGE.


Some days it's a struggle to find a blip. But don't ya just love those days when it's a struggle to choose between them? That was my situation today. During one of the breaks between the Eventing dressage sessions at the Olympics I took a mooch over to the bramble bush in the paddock. I had half-hour to play with and prayed I'd find something suitable fairly quickly. When I got there and browsed over the bush looking for potential subjects I couldn't believe my luck! There, just a few inches apart, were a butterfly - a female Gatekeeper - and a beautiful hoverfly of a type I'd not seen previously. One single shot of them together would've needed to be taken too far off to offer good detail (and the hoverfly was slightly higher than the butterfly), so I ended up taking a macro of each and stitching them together to make the one shot.

To see them indivudally in large, here are the 2 original pics:

Gatekeeper (Pyronia tithonus)

Hoverfly (Volucella pellucens)

When I upturned my barrow this morning to dung the paddock I found 2 identical orange skirted slugs inside. I couldn't leave them there so took them out and placed them together on an area of shady grass. They both curled up into little balls, and looked so cute, like a couple of walnuts, so I took a shot of them side by side.

Hope you've had a good weekend! xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.