Red Squirrel

By JJRW

Large Skipper on Mallow

Edit: due to a correct ID by Roy, the blip title has now changed - and I feel like a total prat! Shame, as 'Moth on Mallow' was such a good title ... oh, in the the blog below for 'moth' please substitute 'butterfly' ... pmsl

LARGER.

I took a walk around the front grounds of County Hall at lunchtime. Most of the grass areas which had earlier been festooned with Dandelions etc have now been cut and the proliferation of bees, hoverflies etc are now much thinned down. But there are areas which have been left 'au naturel' where some insects and butterflies still fly. I found this clump of Mallow being visited by lots of very small, reddish moths. I think they're a type of Burnet but wouldn't swear to it. The wind was pretty strong, making macro work pretty difficult. Of the shots I managed to take, this was the best.

I did manage THIS SHOT of a female Gatekeeper (the best of the 2 pics really) but as I blipped a better shot of one of these yesterday, the moth won!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.