Growing old disgracefully

By GOD

SEA LOCK

I have always been intriqued by canals, locks, lift bridges, etc. This sea lock at Bo'ness Harbour is not connected to a canal, however. I imagine it is the entrance to what once was a vast dry dock. Bo'ness had a thriving harbour until the Forth and Clyde Canal was built, with access to the Firth of Forth just 5 miles west of Bo'ness. I feel somewhat sad for the Harbour now and wish we could find some use for it, other than a place to deposit dog shit. I mention the ordure, because we had our VSP there today and I spent a lot of time trying to keep him out of it.

We took him to Bo'ness to go on the Bo'ness and Kinneil Railway, which he loved, in spite of it being a diesel day , which meant that the steam engines we'd really hoped to see were all in their sheds. He was tired on the way home, but I didn't want him to sleep so let him play with my precious new iphone unitl we got fed up of the chirps and motor bike noises.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.