Event Horizons

A visit back to Norfolk and the farm these few days, a trip into the past and the future, a place somehow no longer rooted in the present.
The farm was one of the very few places I ever felt safe or happy as a child and now the turned halcyon memories of later life are entwined into any return. For a time the farm was infinitely vast, stretching in that way of the flatlands to the horizon in every direction. All grown I now know it was an hour's leisurely stroll but still I can see these trees on the horizon and remember not being tall enough to see past the wheat to where the world ended, all grown I know now they are close but their ghosts remain a life away.

The farm's decline is fitting metaphor for my ninety-two year old Nan. Gardens that were once resplendent now are lost, pathways overgrown - the trails I take to the smashed vineyards or the toppled potting sheds are those of memory - feet following forgotten footsteps. And yet, when I pause and ponder, I stop and sit, I can still see colours brightening, trees shaping and walls holding true - the sense of a labour of love, much like the embrace of family, holds dear past the reality of the present.

Soon I know the farm will pass on, soon there will come a day I can no longer visit, those memories of yesteryear need to be shored up whilst I can, held fast in the gloaming glow of love. I can find peace with that, Nan and the farm are forever entwined, one without the other would seem untrue to either. But for now both endure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.