gennepher

By gennepher

The bee that couldn't fly...

...I came across this wee little bee walking everywhere in my garden today. You can see her next to my shoe. She tried to climb the watering can but fell down. She tried again and again.
Then she decided to climb my steps over the matting to my open bedroom door. No way. It's bad enough with frogs in my bed.
So I picked her up and put her in a foxglove (3rd pic).
Then I studied the pics I had taken, and I realised she probably wasn't able to fly. Both her wings were distorted and hadn't opened up.
The foxglove wriggled and jiggled. Then she emerged. She tried to climb the foxglove plant. Every now and then she took a tumble but she always managed to hang on by one hind leg as she swung round and round. Finally she got to the top of the foxglove. And clung on as a child would. But then she lost her footing, although she managed to keep one leg attached to the foxglove and frantically tried her wings, but she could not fly. Swinging round and round, she finally managed to cling on to the foxglove.
I had to take my phone camera back into the house at this point and shut it down because it was overheating badly. It was a hot day and my phone got sunstroke.
So now I am just watching the tiny bee. It was the most determined little creature, never giving up. Then I noticed it tightrope walking on a blade of grass over the frog pond. I dropped what I was doing and took it off the blade grass, and placed it on some flowers.
I will keep my eye open tomorrow and see if it is still about.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.