fototherapy

By GirlKojak

Not a Roman Coin

Back-blipped on 03 August 2012

Apart from the sanitation, medicine, education, wine, public order, irrigation, roads, the fresh water system and public health, what have the Romans ever done for us?
(Monty Python's The Life of Brian)


I was hoping to blip a beautiful 2000 year old gold coin decorated with a stylised horse and geometric patterns. I took the photo in Market Harborough Museum, which is home to the amazing Hallaton Treasure found on an Iron Age site and including a stunning Roman helmet, thousands of silver/gold coins, and numerous other Roman finds. This has caused much debate in academic circles regarding the relationship between the Iron Age tribes and the Romans. It is a fascinating display and almost made me regret my decision not to follow a career in archaeology. In fact the whole museum is very interesting and well set out, if rather small. Well worth a visit if you are nearby.

I wouldn't normally have hesitated to blip the coin, but in order to be allowed to take photographs I had to sign a form to say I would not (among other things) 'publish' my pictures. I emailed them for clarification, but as yet have had no reply. I'm still hoping I might be able to change the picture later on ...

What have the Romans ever done for us?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.