ST JAMES PARK, NEWCASTLE - OLYMPIC VENUE


OLYMPIC RINGS AND FLAGS AT ST. JAMES PARK, NEWCASTLE

I was back at St James Park this evening to watch the Olympic Football match between Brazil and Honduras. My seat was located really high up - obviously not my choice as I prefer to be nearer the pitch but it gave me a different perspective on the game. The crowd was over 42, 000 - lots of Brazilian supporters who were colourful and noisy. The rest of the crowd were mostly neutral but as the match went on they shifted towards supporting Honduras. Mainly because Honduras put up a good fight as underdogs against the mighty Brazil and managed to score the first goal. Brazil drew level and there was everything to play for. However it seemed to me - and to a lot of non-Brazil supporters - that the Brazil players were intent on diving and getting the Honduran players booked. This tactic worked and in the end 2 Honduran players were sent off for being booked twice. With 9 men they didn't stand much chance of winning the match but they never gave up. The final score was Brazil 3 Honduras 2.

So Brazil progress to the semi finals where they would have played Team GB --- if Team GB had managed to win the penalty shoot out this evening. But it wasn't to be.

I have a few more photos from the OLYMPIC FOOTBALL in my blipfolio

Its been a great day for Team GB - I came back after the match to find out that they had been winning medals right, left and centre. Well done especially to Jessica Ennis and Mo Farah.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.