Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A very melancholy thistle

It was pouring this morning but I set out to do a recce for the walk I'm leading on Wednesday. By the time I arrived in Slaggyford the rain had stopped and it was fine all morning although I could hear the thunder and see rain clouds gathering.

The paths I have chosen to start the walk were unknown to me and were hard to find due to lack of public footpath signs. One gate was tied up with barbed wire. Another was tied with ordinary wire but was hard to untie and then I could not lift the gate. I'm not a weakling and I did eventually shift it but then I could not close it. Arghh! A message and photos are heading for the footpaths officer asap. "Walkers are welcome!"

On my way back along the South Tyne Trail I found a melancholy thistle growing in a kissing gate. This is one of my favourite wildflowers. They are called melancholy because they were used to treat sadness. Nicholas Culpepper in 1669 said that it "makes a man as merry as a cricket". Now I know that I can feel much happier about the name.

Back in time to watch Andy Murray win his gold and later his silver. Well done to Murray and Robson.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.