IT IS A MYSTERY!

Early at seven the sky was blue but when I started my walk it was rather dull.
I wanted to go where I was yesterday (why should I not?), but when I had crossed the busy street I decided suddenly to go to the cemetry lying right before me.
Two roads with a broad ditch lead to the entrance. Walking along one of the roads I pondered why I would visit it. It's the beginning of August I thought and looked upon my mobile with the date, realizing that it could be the 6th and that was the birthday of my mother. It appeared the 8th but it did not stop me on my way because I could have a moment of quietness thinking of her now nevertheless. Not that we was buried here, her and my father's graves are in Leiden.
Near the entrance I saw the creature, how could I have missed it being that green and on a purple flower. On my knees I took many pictures, she did first not move and later slowly began to walk the stem of the flower. When I had finished she suddenly jumped away. I looked where to but no, no trace of her.
Then I entered the cemetry to have my first look around.
I saw the grave of Leonard Roggeveen (1898-1959) a teacher and writer and illustrator of famous children and youth literature. I loved especially hist book Bram Vingerling and many favoured that. It is a book about a boy who can become unseen. I remember the scenes on the beach, right here in Kijkduin (or Scheveningen). And the series he wrote about Daantje, an old little man en of course Okkie Pepernoot, the last books for young children, with big letters.
At the end of the grounds there were graves collected for people who originated in Suriname with exotic names and another space with such little spots for babies and very young children.
It is a mystery indeed: life and death.
And in life there are all sorts of mysteries, blipland for example.

My haiku:

Keep near the safe ground
Can't see your eyes anymore
The considerate

And the latin proverb:

The life of the dead is in the memory of the living.

Nearly 25 proverbs in the book on death are from the Old and New Testament.





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.