Mr John

By MrJohn

Iridium.....

.... 4

Ok, I have to appologise, I know this is my third satellite blip in a row, but after missing out on getting a photo of the Iridium flare earlier in the night yesterday, I decided to have a go at getting a photo of one in the early hours.

This is a 30 second exposure of the flare from the Iridium 4 satellite. At a -8 magnitute of brightness, it is the brightest one I have seen to date ( last night really was great for sky watching ).

Here are the tekkie details for those of you that way inclined :

Viewed in Ilkley
Iridium 4
Date/time : 10 Aug 02:29:44
Magnitude : -8
Altitude above horizon : 47°
Azimuth : 154° (SSE)
Distance from flare center : 1.9 km (W)


For anyone who wants to spot satellites or flares ( including the international space station ) The heavens above website will tell wou where and when to look to see them.

Thanks again for all the comments, stars and hearts for yesterday's space station blip. It's a photo that I was really pleased to finaly get.

As this is the brightest I have photographed, today's blip is .....


..... Iridium 4.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.