Night Prowler

I was a bit spoiled for choice today for my blip. I thought I had my blip settled around 1 am when I was awake and happened to see this fellow on the deck taking advantage of the left overs from the birds and squirrels. Then during the afternoon I did some more jay photos and there was one really sharp one that I liked so I thought maybe. And then the light was wonderful as Arvin and I took a walk after dinner. And there was a young doe standing so the highlight of light encircled her. Which to choose? I finally decided on the first one I took. I've seen this guy before. I remember his scolloped ear.

Today Arvin and I visited two more art studios. We saw our friend and fellow traveler to Italy, Dave Nichols' wonderful oil paintings and had a good long talk about life and art. 

Then we stopped at Larry Richmond and Peggy Kondo's studio and had another wonderful encounter. I have been wanting some of Peggy's work for many years. We already have a small piece by Larry but not one of Peggy's. Most of the work which is fantastic is outside our budget. But this year she decided to make small baskets that can be worn as necklaces and I had to have one. 

We got to talking and I showed them both some photos of my paintings which they really liked. Then Peggy invited us in to see her favorite painting. She said it reminded her of my work. So we went in to their house which is filled with wonderful art, theirs and the work of many other artists. The painting was of two people and the colors were really wild and vibrant. I got close and read the artist's name and was flabbergasted to realize that I know the artist. It is Melinda Thorsnes, one of the wonderful Portland artists who teaches at The Creative Arts Community Arts at Menucha. In fact she was supposed to be teaching the class I took this summer but she couldn't because of a fall. She is a wonderful artist and so much fun to study and be with. I was so delighted at the coincidence and I plan to send Melinda an email with a link to Peggy's and Larry's website.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.