Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Two in a row...

Those of you who've known me for a while know that I used to be truly terrified of spiders.  Gradually, through photography and some really awesome people here on Blipfoto, I've overcome my arachnophobia and, while the big ones still give me a little case of the heebie-jeebies, I am mostly fascinated.

Case in point - today's photo.  I was doing some clean-up around the garden and noticed the tiniest web on my Mexican Sage plant which lead me to look for the maker of the web.  I looked and looked and looked some more...and finally saw a small speck on the flower that I thought could possibly be a spider.  Using a 20mm extension tube and a pretty big crop, I discovered this tiniest of spiders.  It looks to me like some type of orbweaver, although I may be totally mistaken.  Definitely the smallest spider I've ever seen, though, and worthy of a Blip.  Just as a frame of reference, I'm putting a shot in Extra of my thumb next to the spider - see what I mean about it's size?  (And ignore the dirt under my nail - I was busy working on my garden!)

My second choice for a Blip today would have been this shot of a gorgeous male Purple Finch.  There were two of them in the yard this morning (along with an adorable red-breasted nuthatch, again) and this one let me get quite close.  The nuthatch, not being shy at all, flew right up while I was trying to refill the feeder.  

I'm heading off on an adventure tomorrow morning with a couple of friends - off to Delaware for some photography and birding, returning Sunday.  Not sure when I'll have time to Blip, but in the worst case, I'll back-blip on Sunday.  

Keeping all of my friends in Florida and along the Georgia and S. Carolina coasts in my thoughts right now.  Hoping this hurricane blows itself out with minimal damage.  Stay safe, people.

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.