London and GOSH

We're in London for Abi's operation. She was second on The List, today, so we were not really sure what time she'd go into theatre. While Abi and her mum stayed in the GOSH 'hotel', just over the road from the hospital, Dan and I went down to stay with my folks, so this morning I had to make an early start, which found me crossing Waterloo Bridge just after seven o'clock.

As you can imagine, Abi's not been particularly looking forward to this but the staff at Great Ormond Street were, as usual, brilliant in helping her to relax. In the pre-op room, the anaesthetists were telling her jokes and buoying her spirits. They asked Abi if she knew any good jokes and she asked them "What do you get if you cross a joke with a hypothetical question?" and then remained steadfastly silent until they all got it. She was listening attentively to their next joke as she slipped into sleep.

I reckon she was under for around four hours, during which time her mum and I hung out in the canteen, drinking coffee, and getting on fine, which it's nice to do even if that was in an odd situation. Finally, though, the call came and we were able to go up to recovery, where a dramatically bandaged Abi was waiting for us. 

Given the nature of the operation, there's always a risk - no matter how mitigated - that her facial nerves might be affected, so even her little smile to her mum and me was a cause for joy. We spent the afternoon in her room, although I walked down to Waterloo at one point to meet Dan and take him back to see his sister. The consultant popped by later and seemed quietly pleased with his work (and also slightly shy confronted with our repeated, earnest thanks.)

Later Dan and I left Abi in peace and went for a bite to eat followed by a gig at Scala. His mum's partner had put us on the guest list although the manager wasn't wild about a fourteen year old coming in (and I agreed!). As a compromise, she put us up on the lighting balcony, which was really good of her and gave us a good view of Aquilo, which Dan enjoyed. (Not quite my cup of tea.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.